Govt lists Ecologically sensitive areas in Harare, Chitungwiza, Epworth , Ruwa

Environment, Climate, Tourism and Hospitality Industry Minister, Mangaliso Ndlovu

THE Ministry of Environment, Climate, Climate, Tourism and Hospitality Industry and the Environmental Management Agency (EMA) have declared wetlands in Harare, Chitungwiza, Ruwa and Epworth to be ecologically sensitive areas with the intention of imposing limitations on development in and around such areas.

This follows a meeting which Zimbabwe Lawyers for Human Rights (ZLHR), Harare Wetlands Trust and other stakeholders held in December 2020 with Environment Minister, Nqobizitha Mangaliso Ndlovu.

ZLHR and their partners presented him with their submissions, several recommendations and measures to enhance the protection of wetlands.

The following is a notice issued by EMA on the measures to protect wetlands:
Public Notice on intention to declare certain areas ecologically sensitive areas ; City of Harare; City of Chitungwiza; Epworth and Ruwa Local Boards.

NOTICE is hereby given that the Minister of Environment, Climate, Tourism and Hospitality Industry wishes to exercise his powers in terms of section 113 (1) of the Environmental Management Act (Chapter 20:27) by issuing a public notice of intention to declare to declare wetlands in the Harare Metropolitan Province listed below as Ecologically Sensitive Areas.

The declaration may impose limitations on development in and around such areas.

Wetlands under City of Harare
Ashbrittle, Borrowdale Brooke, Budiriro, Bluffhill, Braeside, Belvedere, Borrowdale West, Carrick Creech, Caledonia, Chisipite, Cleveland Dam, Dzivarasekwa, Epworth, Eastlea, Green Groove, Glen Lorne, Glen Norah, Greystone Park, Glen View, Highfield, Highlands, Houghton Park, Harare South, Hatfield, Helensvale, Kutsaga, Kuwadzana, Mabvuku, Mbare, Midlands, Mufakose, Mukuvisi, Marlborough, Milton park, Mount Pleasant, Monavale, Manyame, National Sports Stadium, Northwood, Prospect, Rockview, Sunway City, Seke Dam, St. Patrick, Tafara, The Grange, Tynwald, University of Zimbabwe, Vainona, Waterfalls, Westlea, Warren Park, Rugare and Willowvale.

Wetlands under City of Chitungwiza
St.Mary’s, Unit K, Unit A, Unit B, Unit D, Unit J, Unit L, Unit N, Unit O, Unit P, Zengeza 2, Zengeza 4, Town Centre and Mason Village.

Wetlands under Ruwa and Epworth Local Board
Chiremba, Epworth, Harava, Ruwa, Windsor, Thorncroft, Dama Falls Phase 3, Dama Falls Phase 5, Runyararo, Springvale, Rockview, Jacha, Glenwood and Rex.

This notice supercedes any other previous notice on the subject matter.
Some land barons have been illegally allocating wetland stands to home seekers . Thousands of houses were demolished by authorities in recent years. – Ignite Media

To advertise on this site or to offer any other forms of sponsorship, you can call or WhatsApp on +263772908937 or email